Collision near Caney injures two Tulsa men

(Monday, March 10)


CANEY — A rear-end collision on U.S. 166 highway east of Caney on Monday afternoon injured two Tulsa, Okla., men.


The Kansas Highway Patrol said a car driven by Phillip Todd, age 38, of Tulsa, Okla., was eastbound on U.S. 166 highway on Monday afternoon when it rear ended a 2007 Kenworth semi pulling a trailer that was making a left turn on to county road 1700. The trailer carried a large excavator that was bound for the Enbridge pipeline project north of Caney.



The collision left Todd with serious injuries. He was taken to Coffeyville Regional Medical Center by ground ambulance.


A passenger in the Todd vehicle, James Clark, age 29, of Tulsa, was critically injured with major trauma to the head. He was flown by helicopter to a regional medical center for treatment of injuries.


The driver of the semi, Kevin Knaup, age 48, of Clintonville, Wis., was not injured.


All persons in the two vehicles were wearing their seat belts at the time of the collision.


Posted in Breaking News | Comments Off

Former Caney woman killed, young son injured in stabbing attack

SATURDAY, FEB. 15, 2014

CANEY —The Caney community is in shock today (Feb. 15) upon hearing of the murder of former Caney woman and a savage attack on her 8-year-old son.


News outlets in the St. Louis, Mo., area are reporting on the Friday night murder of a 29-year-old woman living in Jonesburg, Mo., just west of St. Louis.  Local friends have identified the slain woman as Lexy Vandiver, who was a 2003 graduate of Caney Valley High School.

Posted in Breaking News | Comments Off

Former Havana city clerk pleads guilty to embezzlement

WICHITA – A former city clerk for the city of Havana pleaded guilty Wednesday to embezzling funds from the city and from her church, U.S. Attorney Barry Grissom said. She agreed to pay restitution of approximately $14,658 to the city of Havana and $44,568 to Cross Point Baptist Church.


Diana L. Cox, 67, Havana, Kan., pleaded guilty to one count of bank fraud and one count of wire fraud.

Continue reading

Posted in Breaking News | Comments Off

Former Independence police chief charged with perjury, misuse of funds, theft

Continue reading

Posted in Breaking News | Comments Off

Former Havana city clerk charged with embezzlement

A former City of Havana official has been charged in federal court with one count of bank fraud and one count of wire fraud.


U.S. Attorney Barry Grissom of Wichita charged Diana Cox of Havana with the two crimes for allegedly defrauding the City of Havana of $14,658 and the Cross Point Baptist Church in Caney of $44,568.51. Both events allegedly took place in 2011.

Posted in Breaking News | Comments Off

Sheriff: girl’s death may have been accidental

INDEPENDENCE — Montgomery County Sheriff Robert Dierks announced today that his office is investigating what they believe to be the accidental death of a 17-year-old Independence girl early on Tuesday, Jan. 7.


Dierks stated that Shirley Catherine Raven Scout Fowler was discovered by her family in the early morning hours of Jan. 7, in her home and she was unresponsive. Dierks stated that EMS was contacted to respond, however Fowler was not able to be resuscitated.

Continue reading

Posted in Breaking News | Comments Off

Independence man arrested following murder of girlfriend

INDEPENDENCE (Jan. 6) — Independence police chief Harry Smith has confirmed that a 41-year-old Independence man was arrested early Monday and will be recommended on a charge of murder in the death of his girlfriend.

Arrested was Russell McQueen Arndt, age 41, of 217 S. 2nd. Found dead at the same address early Monday morning was Arndt’s girlfriend, Rebecca Ann Whittley, age 35. More details to follow.

(The above story is a corrected version of an earlier posting)

Posted in Breaking News | Comments Off

Independence resident pushes for stronger security at local bars

INDEPENDENCE — An Independence woman who lost a family member in an assault at a local bar asked city commissioners on Thursday (Jan. 2) to require tougher security measures at local taverns.


Bonnie Tucker, whose son, Pete Tucker, died from injuries in an assault at a local bar in February 2013, asked commission to impose a regulation requiring security lights and cameras in the outdoor smoking areas and eating/drinking areas of local taverns. The enhanced protections will allow bars and taverns to better police their establishments and prevent injuries to patrons, she said.

Continue reading

Posted in Breaking News | Comments Off

Alert church volunteers create heightened security at Tyro Christian Church


Incident at Tyro church results in locking doors and calling sheriff

TYRO — Leaders of the Tyro Christian Church report that a security incident last Sunday (Dec. 15) was handled efficiently and safely.

David Bycroft, minister, said rumors were floating around that the church had a bomb threat during church services, and that a gun was involved.

“Neither of these is true,” said Bycroft.

Bycroft said a young man came inside the front door of the church during the second worship service on Sunday, and shared some information with one of the check-in people.

The man then left the building and was not seen again.

That episode triggered some concern, and all doors to the building were immediately locked.

“An off-duty policeman who was in the church service was enlisted to oversee the hallway,” Bycroft said. “The county sheriff was called and they sent out two deputies as well.”

The Tyro Christian Church’s own security team kept watch over the children’s areas and the outside doors.

Bycroft said the church will remain at a heightened security level for the next few weeks.

“There was no threat made toward Tyro Christian Church or any individual,” Bycroft said.

“We praise God that there was no actual incident that would cause any harm.”


Posted in Breaking News | Comments Off

Cherryvale mourns loss of high school senior

CHERRYVALE — Sadness befell the Cherryvale community and Cheryvale Middle-High School where news was announced early this morning (Friday) of the death of a high school senior due to a self-inflicted gunshot wound.


Labette County Sheriff Robert Sims confirmed the death of a 17-year-old male at his home at 19037 Anderson Road in rural Cherryvale shortly after 7 a.m., this morning.


The teenager was later identified by sources as Caleb Castilleja, a senior at Cherryvale High School. No further details were announced by Sims, other than to say no foul play was suspected.

Continue reading

Posted in Breaking News | Comments Off