General election results for Montgomery County

Winners named in USD 447 board election


The USD 447 Board of Education results are complete with the final tally including the votes from Montgomery, Neosho and Wilson counties.

The top three winners were Robert John (342 votes), Gina Booe (270 votes) and John Robert Potthast (233 votes).

Other candidates in the race included Mark Torkelson (212 votes), Michael Griffin (200 votes), andRoy Griffin (171 votes).


City of Caney elects new mayor


The City of Caney has a new mayor following the victory of Carol McClure over incumbent mayor Dale McBride on Tuesday.


McClure received 186 votes while McBride received 149 votes.


McClure will assume the oath of office at the Caney City Council meeting on April 15.


In other Caney City Council elections, Ward 3 councilor Casey Eytcheson will retain his seat after defeating a challenge by Amber Toth. Eytcheson received 49 votes while Toth received 35 votes.


Chad Bradford will represent ward 4 after earning a clear majority of votes. Bradford received 63 votes while challengers David Carey earned 33 votes and Zoe Wahl received 7 votes.


Dan Johnston was unopposed in his race for ward 1 councilor.


The race for ward 2 was decided by write-in vote. Bill Sims received the most votes with seven. Joe Taylor, a ward 2 councilor who chose not to seek re-election, received six votes.


Caflisch, Meier are top vote recipients in Independence


Leonhard Caflisch and Fred D. Meier were the winners in the Independence City Commission races in Tuesday’s general election.


Caflisch received 699 votes while Meier garnered 641 votes. Ned Stichman had the third-most votes at 588 while Phillip Chappuie received 371 votes.


Edwards wins write-in campaign; sales tax question OKd


Don Edwards will remain on the Coffeyvile City Commission after winning a write-in candidacy in Tuesday’s general election.


Edwards received 330 write-in votes while commissioner Pam Jones received 285 write-in votes. Caleb Gibbs earned 178 write-in votes.


Edwards will serve on the commission along with two newcomers: Marcus Kastler and Christopher Williams. Williams received 559 votes while Kastler received 358 votes.


Williams and Kastler will serve four-year terms while Edwards will serve a two-year term.


The city sales tax question was approved by an overwhelming majority.  Yes votes were 603 votes while No votes received 303 votes.





Wilson, Artherton win contested races for USD 436 board 


The USD 436 (Caney Valley) Board of Education will have three new members.


Rick Wilson of Tyro won election to the at-large board position, which had been held board member Colby Matthews.


The results from Tuesday’s general election — not counting provisional ballots, which will be counted next Monday — showed Wilson with 181 votes while Blair Millemon received 177 votes. Matthews received 125 votes.



In the other contested USD 436 board race, Mark Artherton was retained as a board member for a four-year term. Artherton won the race for district A, position 2 with 319 total votes. Trina Reed received 109 votes while Rick Pell earned 75 votes.


Sarah Bahr won election in uncontested race for district A, position 1 as did Zach Ellison for district A position 4.  Both Bahr and Ellison are newcomers to the board.


Veteran board member Darlene Sanders won re-election in uncontested race for district B, position 3.  She received 418 total votes.



Paul Price defeated in USD 445 BOE race

Final results for USD 445 Board of Education show Darrel Harbaugh with 860 votes, Robert R. Roeskey with 803 votes and Jerry Hamm with 644 votes.  Harbaugh, Roesky and Hamm will assume their position on the USD 445 Board of Education in July.



Incumbent board member Paul Price was defeated in the race after picking up 481 votes.



Torbett, Wesselowski, Chubb win USD 446 BOE race

One member of the USD 446 (Independence) Board of Education was defeated in Tuesday’s general election.


Incumbent board member Dan Bryant did not finish among the top three in the vote tally. David Torbett received the most votes with 930 while board member Lori Wesselowski picked up 900 votes. Board member Jeffrey Chubb was re-elected with 804 votes.

Scott Hines earned 568 votes. Bryant finished in fifth place with 444 votes.


ICC, CCC trustee winners named 

The top three winners in the Independence Community College trustee race were Val DeFever (1,301 votes), Norman Chambers (957 votes) and David Wallis (787).  Tom Tyler received 733 votes while Brent Biegel picked up 346 votes.


DeFever, Chambers and Wallis will assume their oaths of office in July.


At Coffeyville Community College, the top three vote recipients in the CCC trustee race were incumbents Becky Medley (1,103 votes) and David Baldwin (979 votes) while newcomer Robert York came in third place (826 vote).  Dickie Rolls did not earn election after coming in fourth place with 680 votes.



This entry was posted in Breaking News. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.