Commission axes rural fire coordinator position

INDEPENDENCE — Citing budget constraints, Montgomery County commissioners voted unanimously Monday to eliminate the position of coordinator of the Montgomery County Rural Fire District #1.


The holder of that position was Mark McCleary, whose position ended upon passage of the commission’s vote.


The Montgomery County Rural Fire District #1 comprises all of Montgomery County except for Louisburg Township. The rural fire district’s mill levy is assessed on all properties that are not within the city limits of Independence, Cherryvale, Coffeyville and Caney. Each of those four towns has their own city fire service.


For more details of this story, read about it in the Aug. 16 edition of the Montgomery County Chronicle.



This entry was posted in Breaking News. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.